Forest Grove residents come through again

Annual bottle drive and hotdog sale garners $900 for sports and field trips

On Oct. 15, the doors to the public storage area off Canim-Hendrix Lake Road opened once again for yet another very successful bottle drive and hotdog sale for the Forest Grove Elementary School.

Between 10 a.m. and 2 p.m., about 40 volunteers of all ages combed through bags and boxes, sorting cans, bottles and cartons, while others headed out to pick up recyclables from houses in the surrounding areas.

All in all, they raised was $914, which will go towards sports events and field trips.

A big thank-you goes to all volunteers and everyone supporting this event, as well as Big Country Storage Terminals, which always donates a truck and provide the gas for transporting the separated goods to 100 Mile House’s recycling facility.

Remembrance Day

The Royal Canadian Legion Branch #261, Forest Grove, invites veterans, families and individuals to gather in their parking lot – 4535 Canim-Hendrix Lake Rd. – at 10:40 a.m. to walk the short distance to Legion Park for the annual Remembrance Day ceremony.

After the service, everybody is welcome to gather inside the Legion to mingle, catch up with neighbours and friends and/or make new ones.

Members of the Ladies Auxiliary will be ready with refreshments for everyone to enjoy.

Darts tourney

The Fourth Annual Rob McKay Memorial Darts Tournament at the Forest Grove Legion is scheduled for Nov. 19.

This is a Mixed Doubles event, please bring your own partner.

The registration will take place between 9 and 10 a.m. at a cost of $10 each, and toe line is at 11 a.m. sharp.

For more information, please contact Chuck Kyler at 250-395-4982, or e-mail at

School news

New Forest Grove Elementary School principal Mikel Brogan has initiated a website containing up-to-date news and information, the monthly newsletter and introducing staff members at

CPAC meeting

At the annual general meeting on Oct. 24, the Community and Parents Advisory Council (CPAC) elected the following directors: president Corrie Benard; vice-president Amanda Harvey; treasurer Kelly Kelsey and secretary Kristy Abrams.